The International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) is a scientific / technical Association with almost 4'000 members in 100 countries worldwide. Founded in 1929 it has its seat in Zurich, Switzerland.

IABSE deals with all aspects of structural engineering: the science and art of planning, design, construction, operation, monitoring and inspection, maintenance, rehabilitation and preservation, demolition and dismantling of structures, taking into consideration technical, economic, environmental, aesthetic and social aspects. The term 'Structures' includes bridges, buildings and all types of civil engineering structures, composed of any structural material.

Association’s Charter regulates its activities. Download here (in English). IABSE members are required to pay annual fees, depending on the status of a member of the Association (individual or collective) and his age. Members from developing countries with low gross national product can pay reduced fees.

In order to implement the statutory tasks Association organizes conferences, congresses, symposia, seminars and publishes a quarterly journal “Structural Engineering International” and “Structural Engineering Documents”.

The President of the IABSE is currently Jacques Combault, France.

The Permanent Committee is the highest body of the Association. The Permanent Committee shall meet at least once every year. Members of the Permanent Committee from Russia are: Valeriy Schmidt, Sergey Mozalev and Vadim Seliverstov.

The executive director of the IABSE is Ueli Brunner, who heads the work of the Secretariat.

Technical activities at IABSE are mainly conducted in its Technical Groups. Some Groups are of indefinite duration and others limited in time. The main results of their activity appear in publications and conferences of the Association.

The groups are coordinated by the Technical Committee (chairman L.Vagemans, Netherlands). The members of technical panels are approved, team leaders are elected for a certain period.

IABSE holds the following Technical Groups:

  • Working Commission 1: Structural Performance, Safety and Analysis
  • Working Commission 2: Steel, Timber and Composite Structures
  • Working Commission 3: Concrete Structures
  • Working Commission 4 (previously WC 8): Operation, Maintenance and Repair of Structures
  • Working Commission 5: Design Methods and Processes
  • Working Commission 6: Information Technology
  • Working Commission 7: Sustainable Engineering
  • SEI Editorial Board
  • SED Editorial Board
  • E-Learning Board
  • Working Group 1: Glass Structures
  • Working Group 2: FRP (Fibre Reinforced Polymer) Structures
  • Working Group 3: Guidelines for Design Competitions for Bridges
  • Working Group 4: Vibrations of Structures
  • Working Group 5: Bearings and Joints
  • Working Group 6: Bridge Construction Equipment
  • Working Group 7: Earthquake Resistant Structures