The President of IABSE (2007–2010) is Jacques Combault, France.

Jacques Combault is one of the leading specialists in the world in the field of cable and long-span bridges. By joining the AIPC in 1987, Jacques Combault was active in numerous scientific and organizing committees of IABSE’s symposia and congresses, was chairman of the Working Committee on Concrete Structures and a member of the Technical Committee of the Association. In 1997 he was elected Vice-president of IABSE and in 2007 he was elected President of the IABSE.

On November 1, 2010 Predrag Popovic, USA will replace him for the regular three-year term till October 31, 2013.

P. Popovic is Vice-President of Wiss, Janney, Elstener Associates, USA. His field of interest is the design of bridges and buildings, and his particular expertise is the assessment and repair of concrete structures and of fatigue damage in steel bridges, and exterior facades of high-rise buildings. Over the last 30 years he has evaluated and designed repairs for over 1’500 structures. Member of IABSE since 1985 he has served in numerous committees, in particular as Chair of Working Commission 8 on ‘Operation, Maintenance and Repair of Structures’ (now WC 4); as Member of the Outstanding Structure Award Committee and Chair of the Organising Committee for the 17th IABSE Congress Chicago 2008. Predrag Popovic has been Vice-President of IABSE since 2006.

The Chairman of the Russian group of IABSE is Valeriy Shmidt.